Kefir Koolies Create Balanced “Gut”

I’m sure by now you’ve gotten the idea that I operate a “busy
kitchen.” I’m sure you do, too.

For that matter we all lead busy lives and live in a busy world. With
all the demands in our schedule it’s no wonder sometimes our “gut”
can feel a little stressed out and upset. Between home life, work,
school and activities we are sometimes not completely conscience of what
we put into our bodies much less our children’s.

Many years ago — after a long time of eating anything and everything
I wanted — I started having some “belly” issues.  At the end of
it, I learned a thing or two about digestion health. And one of my
favorite food discoveries from that time in my life was an amazing
product called kefir.

Kefir is an ancient smoothie-like drink that originated in the Caucasus
Mountains of Europe and reminds me of a second cousin twice removed from
yogurt.

Known as the champagne of dairy, this 99 percent lactose free drink is
said to be derived from the Turkish word “keif” for “good
feeling,” which makes sense since people in that region of the world
live to be well past 100 years old.

Kefir is chock-full of nature’s best friend, probiotics. These
friendly little digestive bacteria keep everything in balance in your
tummy are a very important part of today’s diet.
I purchase kefir every week as part of my regular grocery shopping, and
for around $4, it’s one of the best and most inexpensive ways to give
my kids something “good,” fast and refreshing on the go.
Kefir comes in 10 to 15 different flavors and is available at all large
grocery stores and health food centers. It is effervescent, fruity and I
promise your kids will love it.

I use kefir in three different ways each week as part of my
children’s diet.

Straight up:

No fuss, no muss. We drink it right out of the bottle.
Yep, I cannot deny it. I have been spotted allowing my children to drink
kefir right out of the bottle on the way home from the grocery store.
It’s a little weird, yes, but they love it and aside from doing kefir
shots before breakfast, it’s the easiest way to get it in their belly.

Kefir Parfait:

Call me a simpleton but this is an almost stupid easy
way to enjoy kefir and have a filling, quick, no-cook breakfast or snack
for you and your kids. I simply pour kefir (whatever flavor your choose)
onto granola and fresh fruit. Grab and spoon and you are in kefir
business.  See recipe and pictures below!

Last but not least ………..

This is my families favorite way to enjoy kefir.  It’s filling, fruity, fun and flavorful!  Yes and a little too good to be true!

Kefir Koolies:

This recipe is super-simple and allows you to
incorporate a little more fruit, fiber and omega-3 fatty acids into
their diet. I use strawberry banana kefir, raw honey, milled flaxseed
and fresh fruit. This recipe is a great way to get out of the house
quick in the morning and not feel guilty.

Enjoy and let your tummy be in wellness heaven!

Kefir Koolies
1 banana
2 cups fresh whole strawberries (about 14-16 small berries)
2 cups strawberry-banana kefir
1 cup ice
1 tablespoon milled flaxseed
1/4 cup raw honey
1. Combine banana, strawberries, kefir, ice, flaxseed powder and honey
in blender.
2. Puree on medium-high speed for 1 to 2 minutes or until mixture is
smooth and creamy.  Pour into glasses.
Note: Freeze fruit for a thicker koolie or change up the kefir and
fruit flavors throughout the week.

I love adding honey, fresh fruit and a secret ingredient (the flax seed) to the kefir to kick it up from a stand alone simple drink to a nice wholesome breakfast smoothie or koolie.

Kefir Parfaits
1 cup granola
1/2 cup fresh fruit (your choice)
1/2 cup lowfat kefir (your choice of flavor)
1. Mix granola and fruit in a bowl or portable to-go container and pour
kefir over the top.
2. Let soak for a few minutes for a softer parfait.
Note: For a fun brunch idea,  alternate the granola, fruit and kefir in
a glass bowl or cup for a more elegant presentation.


I used a wonderful granola that had dried apple and stone fruit pieces in it. Yum!

Add fresh fruit and your favorite flavor of Kefir and you have a wonderful breakfast fit for any little or big champion!

Add this to your life recipe today!
Viva la Kefir!

Tiffers :)

3 thoughts on “Kefir Koolies Create Balanced “Gut”

  1. I love your site dear, I always knew you were special from the day you were born, keep up the good work and the good ideas and information, and wonderful receipes, I also like the nice big pictures, we need a bigger picture of you with your chef attire on, cooking something wonderfull. love mom

  2. Sounds to yummy to be healthy!! Hum, wonder if I can find kefir in our small town. A friend of mine lives over in Greece and she makes her own (show off). Love your site!

Leave a Reply

