The Science and Lore of the Kitchen

So I was a major science nerd in school!  Yes I looked forward every year with anticipation to the “Science Fair”.  My sister could write novels and short stories with no effort so naturally I must have inherited the “Sid the Science Kid” genes.  I loved discovering new information.   I still have fond memories when it comes to the smells associated with dissecting a frog or creating the chemical substance found in matches called “toluene”……. ahhhhhhh..   Science obviously became my numero uno subject in school and therefore what I initially major in at college.  Over the years of transitioning from science nerd to food nerd, I have often journeyed back down test tube lane and reignited my passion for the combination of food and science.

I love looking at food scientifically!  It isn’t always pretty but it helps us understand what is going on underneath our shallow perspective as diners.   On Food and Cooking:  The Science and Lore of the Kitchen by Harold McGee could be deemed as one of the greatest books ever written on the subject.  I still remember seeing the three inch mammoth for the first time and thinking “how am I ever going to read that”?

Needless to say, I did.  In fact I forced myself to read it twice just to make my brain hurt for good measure.  I hope you enjoy the sampling or tasting style of presenting the fascinating topics of this book.  The read is definitely not for the faint at heart cook or foodie.  Those seeking light and airy fairy food or info need not apply.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

